SSJYSL - Referee Questions

 

ReferE Mail: Ask an SSJYSL Referee a Soccer Question

Send us questions for our SSJYSL referees. Suitable questions will be published along with our replies.
Send your questions to refdirector@ssjysl.org.

See also:


Scoring with 12 men on field

Q: A goal is scored, team line up for kick off and I count 12 players on team side that scored the goal. I say no goal too many men on field before kick off is done. In the 2001/2002 book Laws of the Game I could not find out what to do when goal is scored and there are to many players on field. What page is the answer on?
Eric Hagquist

A: According to the newest "Advice to Referees on the Laws of the Game," "If a goal is scored by the team that had more than the allowed number of players and the referee discovers this before play has restarted, the goal is not valid and the restart is a goal kick." The last player that entered the field would be cautioned.
Brad Kinne

Can a goalkeeper pick the ball up again?

Q: On a goal kick, can the goalie after placing the ball on the ground within the goal box, pick the ball up and punt or throw it? Or must the ball be kicked while it is on the ground by the goalie or another player? Thanks in advance for your answers,
Steve Aubrey

A: A goal kick must be kicked from the ground. The ball may be kicked by any defensive player. The ball must be stationary before it is kicked. The ball must clear the penalty area before it can be played by ANY other player (other than the one who kicked it). If the ball does not clear the penalty area of it touched by ANY player before leaving the penalty area, another goal kick must be taken as the ball has not been legally put into play.
Brad Kinne

Handling the ball

Q: As I understand the "handling the ball" infraction, inadvertent touches of the ball are not infractions. However every ref, at least for my girls' under 12 team, calls every arm, hand, and should touch, inadvertent or not, as a "hand ball" infraction, and stops play and gives the other team a free kick.

Am I misinterpreting the rule? I realize that determining if a touch is inadvertent is very subjective, but it's obvious when hands or arms are moved instinctively to protect the body when suddenly faced with a fast approaching ball, that this does not constitute deliberate contact.

I got my information from a book titled:

UNITED STATES SOCCER FEDERATION,
ADVICE TO REFEREES ON THE LAWS OF THE GAME
Hank Steinbrecher, Executive Director/Secretary General,
Julie Ilacqua, Chair, National Referee Committee

Thanks in advance for your answers,
Steve Aubrey

A: The Law states "deliberately handles the ball" ANY TIME the ball hit ANY part of a player (ball to hand), it is NOT handling. If the ball hits a players arm (and they did not attempt to strike the ball with their hand or arm), the ball falls to their feet and they take off with it, it is NOT handling. For a referee to properly call handling, he or she must see the player make a deliberate and obvious act to handle the ball with their hand, then handling should be called. Any player who places their hands over body parts to protect themselves and the ball hits their hands, it is not handling.

Steve chose the correct book to check. That is one of the books referees are told to read in addition to the Law book. If referees are making the wrong calls on the field, let me know the date, time, location and at least one of the names of the teams playing. I will talk to them and we will discuss the proper application of the Law. Here's a question for you: Can a referee "card" or show a yellow or red card to a coach? The correct answer is NO but do you know why? If you can't find the answer, write back to me!
Brad Kinne

Start of play after an infraction

Q: After an infraction or stop of play (e.g. Corner kicks, free kicks?) when are the times that you MUST wait for the referee to give the OK to start play again? Some times you see in professional games that a player stops the ball with a hand then takes a free kick with no indication from the referee. Other times a wall is set up and the referee blows the whistle. Are there rules for this? Or is it at the referee's discretion? Thanks,
Michael Detrinidad

A: After stoppage of play (direct, indirect, corner kick, throw-in, goal kick), the referee is not required to blow the whistle to restart play unless the attacking team asks for 1) a wall (direct or indirect kick) or 2) 10 yards for a corner kick. Often times, the referee will award a free or corner kick and the attacking team will take it quickly. If the attacking team asks for a wall or 10 yards on the corner kick, the referee will set the defensive players (wall), move out of the way and then blow the whistle for play to begin.
Brad Kinne

When are substitutions allowed?

Q: It seems that the rules for substitutions are different for each age group. My questions are for Girls' under 12.

Can substitutions be made during any stoppage of play? Including goal kicks, corner kicks, and throw-ins.

If not, when?
Thanks, Michael Detrinidad

A: Substitutions can be made by either team at any of the following: On their own throw in

  • At a goal kick
  • After a goal has been score by either team
  • At the beginning of the second half
  • After a yellow card has been issued to a player. (No replacement for a red card.)
  • When a player is injured, that player may be substituted. The other team may also substitute at the time of the other team having an injury
Players may not enter or leave the field of play without the center referee's permission. A player or substitute entering or leaving the field without the center referee's permission may receive a yellow card

A player may NOT be substituted on a corner kick, direct or indirect kick which results in a stoppage of play

Challenge Question: There is only one re-start that allows a player to kick the ball twice in a row. What is it & why?
Brad Kinne

© 2007-2014 South San Jose Youth Soccer League (SSJYSL)